International Relations

The International Relations (IR) community at the Department of Political Science is a vibrant and active research community. It is comprised of a number of research centres and groups. These contribute to different academic debates in the field of IR. They combine an interest in advancing theory and methodological innovation with in-depth empirical work on issues such as international and regional governance, security and conflict, small states, diplomacy, international institutions, or climate change.

United Nations Flags

The members of the IR groups and centres are internationally leading researchers on international security, global risk and military studies, as well as on international political economy, international organisations and foreign policy analysis. The group’s members have a global reputation for innovative and pathbreaking research.

The IR research groups and centres contribute to the academic environment at the department through lectures and seminars with leading experts, conveying the latest knowledge and research along with methodological takes on IR. Together with teaching and supervision at both bachelor’s and master’s level, the IR community is an active contributor to the ongoing research-led dialogue between students and researchers at the department.







International Relations is one of five research groups at the Department of Political Science. International Relations is a theoretically and methodologically open group recognizing the productivity of diversity. The broad range of individual and collective research projects in the group work with different premises and methodological tool kits. They often cross or question the borders to other political science subfields, or disciplines such as sociology, geography, cultural studies or science and technology studies. Members advance concepts such as securitization, discourse, culture, practice, strategy, or risk. The research investigates political processes at different scales, the local, national, regional and global level with a focus on both public and private organizations. Research is as much interested in Denmark and the Nordic countries, as it is in Europe, other world political regions, including Asia and Africa, and processes and structures at the global level.

Five specialised research centres - each focusing on a specific sub-field, region or thematic - are related to the International Relations research group. Further information on the activities of the centers is available at the respective websites:

  • Centre for Resolution of International Conflicts (CRIC)
  • Centre for European Politics (CEP)
  • Centre for Military Studies (CMS)
  • Nordic Institute of Asian Studies (NIAS)

The International Relations research group meets in different formats. In addition to the activities at center level, the group hosts seminars with international speakers, organises frequent seminars to discuss draft publications, grant applications and preliminary findings, including ‘revise & resubmit’ seminars and the bi-annual research day. Members also meet in thematic discussion groups on themes such as interpretative methodology.

Internal and External PhD fellows are active members of the IR research group and receive additional mentoring, feedback and support through the group activities.

The group frequently hosts international visiting fellows at all career levels through the departmental visiting program and externally funded schemes, such as the Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions or Erasmus+.



































The Department of Political Science offers students three distinct master degrees: The MSc. in Political Science (cand.scient.pol.), the MSc. in Security Risk Management (cand.soc.) and the dual master’degree in Social Studies (cand.soc.). All three degrees are prescribed to 120 ECTS, which corresponds to two years of full-time studies.

Master level students obtaining a degree in Political Science who are interested in international relations can specialise in three fields.

  • Foreign Policy
  • International Relations and Conflict Resolution
  • International Political Economy

Further information on the MSc. in Security Risk Management is provided on the program website.
















Name Title Phone E-mail
Adler-Nissen, Rebecca Professor +4530224075 E-mail
Austin, Jonathan Luke Associate Professor +4535320254 E-mail
Baciu, Cornelia Researcher +4535325616 E-mail
Betsill, Michele Merrill Professor +4535330826 E-mail
Breistrand, Line Marie Enrolled PhD Student   E-mail
Bueger, Christian Professor +4535325066 E-mail
Byrjalsen, Niels Academic Research Staff +4535336847 E-mail
Christensen, Lise Wiederholt PhD Fellow +4535322052 E-mail
Corry, Olaf Associate Professor +4535332112 E-mail
Duncombe, Constance Elaine Associate Professor +4535324501 E-mail
Eggeling, Kristin Anabel Assistant Professor +4535335798 E-mail
Golovchenko, Yevgeniy Assistant Professor - Tenure Track +4535333418 E-mail
Græger, Nina Head of Department, Professor +4535337662 E-mail
Hansen, Lene Professor +4535323432 E-mail
Heller, Kevin Jon Professor +4535333191 E-mail
Heurlin, Bertel Academic Staff   E-mail
Holm, Minda PhD Student +45+4745282951 E-mail
Jacobsen, Katja Lindskov Associate Professor - Promotion Programme +4535333869 E-mail
Kristensen, Kristian Søby Head of Centre, Senior Researcher +4535324084 E-mail
Kristensen, Peter Marcus Associate Professor - Promotion Programme +4535322922 E-mail
Kristoffersen, Jens Wenzel Analyst +4535322198 E-mail
Larsen, Henrik Associate Professor +4535323417 E-mail
Larsen, Karen Philippa PhD Fellow   E-mail
Liebetrau, Tobias Researcher +4535331697 E-mail
Marcussen, Martin Professor +4535323499 E-mail
Massari, Alice Postdoc +4535324983 E-mail
Medail, Cecile Postdoc +4535326597 E-mail
Mortensen, Jens Ladefoged Associate Professor +4535323448 E-mail
Mälksoo, Maria Professor +4535331157 E-mail
Renic, Neil Christopher Researcher +4535327953 E-mail
Ronit, Karsten Associate Professor +4535323402 E-mail
Sagatiene, Dovilé Postdoc +4535330344 E-mail
Wind, Marlene Professor +4551327662 E-mail
Wivel, Anders Professor, Head of PhD programme +4535323358 E-mail
Wæver, Ole Head of Centre, Professor +4535323431 E-mail
Zehfuss, Maja Professor +4535325486 E-mail

Honorary Professors

Name Employment
Emanuel Adler University of Toronto, Canada
Barry Buzan London School of Economics, UK