PhD courses at Department of Political Science

Photographer: Sara Galbiati

The Department of Political Science regularly offers high-level methodological and substantial courses, including both compulsory courses and special courses requested by the students. As part of the PhD programme at the University of Copenhagen, you must complete 30 ECTS PhD courses or similar educational elements corresponding to six months of studying.

The faculty offers a compulsory introductory course, which introduces important elements of the PhD programme. In addition, the three courses "Research design", "Advanced qualitative analysis" and "Advanced quantitative analysis" are regularly offered, of which each course is 5 ETCS points.

The Department of Political Science regularly offers courses on methods and aspects of political science. Please see the database for PhD courses in Denmark: for more information.

Registration and payment

Participation in the PhD courses are free for internal PhD students in Denmark, whose Department is on the following list:

  • University of Copenhagen 
  • Department of Political Science, Aarhus University 
  • Department of Political Science, Aalborg University 
  • Department of Political Science, Southern Danish University 
  • Department of society and globalization, Roskilde University 

This is only valid for full degree internal students enrolled at the Department, whom are not visiting. Visiting students and students from Departments outside of Denmark (incl. Greenland) must pay. 

External PhD students must pay DKK 1500 (200 Euros) for each course day. 

Most courses accept a maximum of 15 participants on a first come, first serve basis. To register please send an e-mail to Please remember to specify which course you would like to register for.