5 March 2021

Anne Rasmussen elected to the Executive Committee of the European Consortium for Political Research ECPR


Professor Anne Rasmussen will participate in the development of international co-operation between political science institutes, serving as an Executive Committee member of the European Consortium for Political Research (ECPR). The ECPR was founded in 1970 and now has over 300 member institutions in nearly 50 countries.

Anne Rasmussen. Photo: University of Leiden
Anne Rasmussen.
Photo: University of Leiden

Together with five other newly appointed members, Professor Anne Rasmussen has been elected to serve until 2027 as an Executive Committee member of the European Consortium for Political Research (ECPR). The organization was founded in 1970, and is the largest organisation serving the European political science research community.  It was started by prominent political scientists to break down barriers between different national traditions within the discipline, and create a genuine European community of researchers.

- I am honoured to have been elected to serve an organization that has been an important anchor point for me throughout my academic career. I am really excited to have an opportunity to give back to an organization that has played an important role for me for many years, says Professor Anne Rasmussen, Department of Political Science at the University of Copenhagen.

- I am delighted that the Institute of Political Science is being represented so centrally in this important European political science organization. It certainly represents an endorsement by Anne’s peers, and is also an opportunity for the department to use Anne’s voice to shape activities central to developing competencies and networks for future researchers. Anne’s appointment can absolutely strengthen the internalization and development of our discipline,
says Nina Græger, Professor and Head of the Department of Political Science at the University of Copenhagen.

Rasmussen will be one of 12 members of the executive committee. Six new members are elected every three years, for a period of six years. The committee is responsible for the overall management of the organization, which offers a wide range of activities, including organizing conferences, workshops and summer schools, as well as publishing academic journals, books and newsletters. It consists of more than 50 standing groups and research networks that reflect the breadth of research that takes place within political science.

For Rasmussen, there are two things in particular she wishes to focus on during her tenure:

- First, I want to see continued support for institutional arrangements that bring diverse scholars together, blending insight and seeding new knowledge. Such diversity is vital for progress in a world where the resources available to scholars vary so widely by country and institution.

In addition, she points out that the ECPR should continue to play a key role in relation to younger researchers:

- Education, mentoring schemes and summer schools for younger researchers are absolutely central in terms of stimulating and developing younger researchers' competencies. Such activities should be given high priority and continue to receive financial support from the ECPR. I speak from personal experience when I mention how big a difference an organization like the ECPR can make in these areas.